Rathyn

Posted: July 14, 2010 in The Characters
Tags: , ,

Rathyn was my first character.  Short of being the first, he doesn’t have much of a claim to fame.  I have only raided on him once or twice, and that was VoA.  I don’t even think that counts as a raid, does it?  He was not one of the privileged few to make it to 60 in vanilla or 70 in TBC.  He is my last toon to 80 (#8 for those keeping score). 

Why did he take so long to level?  Why was he the first created and the last to 80?  I think it has a lot to do with playstyle.  First and foremost, I’m not much of a fan of casters.  There’s also the monotony of a frost mage.  [Hey look, a mob!  Frostbolt, Frostbolt, Frostbolt, …]  Add that to the arsenal of max level toons I already had, and you get a case of slow levelling.

When I finally did hit max level on him, I started something that I normally don’t do.  I focused all my efforts on him.  He went from quest greens/blues to full heroic gear (except those boots!) in no time.  I planned his gear out, and went at it.  I had epics crafted for him (the first since Volador) and fully gemmed/enchanted everything.  He is raid ready!  Except, well, I hate PUGs.

So, after I geared him to that point, what could I do?  I felt wrong for spending that much time and not seeing anything from it.  I did what any sane man would.  I started killing people!  Or rather, I died a lot in PvP while I worked on a gearset.  It’s not complete, nowhere close honestly, but it is the start of one.  I believe the count was at 5 or 6 pieces before I stopped focusing on that.

In Cataclysm, Rathyn will probably remain an alt.  He will see 85 eventually, but not for a while.  I don’t know if I’ll keep him (or any other toon) to PvP.  He will definitely be used to gather herbs to fund my way through Cataclysm, or at least add to my nest egg.

Leave a comment